Our House and Neighborhood
Our Home

We live in the Willamette valley in Oregon, in a small college town that is extremely family friendly. On weekends, the little park near our home is filled with families having birthday parties and barbecues, and the playfields and schools are always busy with children's soccer games.

The downtown area hosts a number of community events. We often ride our bicycles on the dedicated bike path to the farmer’s market on Saturday mornings. The market is filled with children, music and food and is a wonderful source of healthy local produce. There are many children’s exercise, recreation and art classes offered in our town, including swimming lessons, tennis, painting, and music.

Our own home is surrounded by schools, bike paths and parks, and there is a library nearby in the center of town. We live in a small cul-de-sac where small children are able to play safely in front of the homes.

We currently live in a townhome, but plan on moving to a larger house with large front and back yards, etc. in a year. Our home has three bedrooms and two bathrooms. There is a piano in the family room. The kitchen is Jenny’s favorite room; she's often there inventing new cakes and cookies. The kitchen is also where we spend time together, drinking coffee in the morning or making dinner after work.

Johann’s favorite room is the “garage,” where he tinkers with our bicycles under the supervision of our cat. Our backyard has a deck and patio for barbecues and a medium sized yard with apple and cherry trees, blueberry bushes and vegetable beds.

Our Extended Families
Jenny with Her Parents and Sister

We are fortunate to see our families quite often. Our immediate family members all live in California, and we are able to see them every few months. Jenny’s sister, brother-in-law and 12-year-old nephew live very close to her parents, so we visit everyone together when we travel down to California. Jenny and her nephew have always been very close. In 2011, Jenny took her nephew to Florida to see the last space shuttle launch (and to visit every amusement park in Florida!). Jenny’s extended family is very large and includes many cousins, and is located in the Midwest. We regularly get together on holidays and for reunions. Johann has met nearly 100 of Jenny’s relatives so far, and still has more to meet. Our family celebrations are fun and a bit goofy, as some of Jenny’s cousins love to play jokes.

Johann is an only child. His mother is from Germany and moved to the Bay Area in her 20s. Her family members, including Johann’s aunt and cousins, are in Germany. Johann’s father passed away in June of 2015. Johann has cousins and an aunt nearby in the Bay Area, and other relatives in southern California.

Johann's Parents

Our families are both fantastically supportive of our plans to adopt, and are looking forward to being grandparents, aunt, uncle and cousin to this child. We are all very excited to welcome a new member to our family.

©2017 American Adoptions - All Rights Reserved    
Call 1-800-ADOPTION