Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for taking the time to read our profile. Even the possibility you might choose us to parent your child brings us great joy, and we are so grateful you are considering us. We are an active, happily married couple that cannot wait to share our love with a child. We promise to provide this precious gift with a caring home, surrounded by love, opportunity and acceptance.

View Video Profile
Mike Bridget
job description
Senior IT Engineer Human Resource Manager
education
Associate's Degree in Information Technology Master's Degree in Social Work
favorites
Hobby
Bicycling
Hobby
Hiking
Dream Job
Being Paid to Travel to Luxurious & Exotic Places
Dream Job
Traveling the World Writing for National Geographic
Ice Cream
Chocolate Ice Cream With Brownie Bits
Ice Cream
Mint Chocolate Chip
Personal Hero
Elon Musk
Personal Hero
My Grandma
TV Show
Stranger Things
TV Show
Grey's Anatomy
children
None
relationship
Legally Married

Cultural Diversity
We Can't Wait to Become Parents!

We are open to adopting a child of a different race because we believe that we have the resources and motivation to provide that child with a diverse upbringing. Our home will be one that is open and loving of all races and cultures. We will celebrate our child's culture through reading books about their ancestry, providing same-race toys, cooking ethnic dishes from their culture, and seeking out hands-on learning opportunities for our child to learn about their heritage. We will confront racism directly and be prepared to answer questions our child may have about their own ethnic and cultural identity, no matter how difficult the answers may be.

We will seek out connections for our child. We feel it is important for our child to have same-race adults and children in their life. We will make sure our child has same-race mentors in their life. Furthermore, we have joined a local non-profit adoption support agency and have connections with other families that have adopted a child of a different race. Allowing our child the opportunity for connections with others from their culture as well as other transracial families will be extremely important.

We understand that having a child of a different race will require that we be more self aware and mindful of the prejudges in the world around us. We feel we are up to the challenge. We will be steadfast throughout our child's life in providing learning opportunities and connections to their culture.

Our Leisure Time
Collecting Food at Cranksgiving

We both love being outside in nature. We enjoy taking our dogs on nightly walks around the neighborhood, and longer hikes on the weekends. Mike is a passionate cyclist and rides his bike as much as he can. Bridget joins him periodically on the road, but isn't as involved as Mike is. Bridget prefers to try different types of physical activities. She has completed three half marathons and in 2015 we both rode 200 miles in 2 days to raise money for Multiple Sclerosis.

As an avid mountain biker, Mike enjoys volunteering with the local mountain bike organization to build new trails. The organization sponsors build days, where people donate their day to helping build and maintain the trail system in the area. We are lucky to have such a great cycling community.

We have both been involved in an annual event "Cranksgiving," in which cyclists ride to local grocery stores and buy canned food for the local food bank. The first few years we participated as riders, but last year we teamed up with Bridget's work and helped out loading the vans full of food. It's an annual event we love being a part of.

We look forward to participating in events like this with our child. We want to teach our child to appreciate the great outdoors and to be amazed of the things the human body can do. We also want our child to be involved in activities that help others.

Our Pups, Roma & Estes
Roma

We are a dog family through and through and consider them more than pets. There is nothing quite like the unconditional love of a dog!

Bridget loves dogs so much that she has chosen to work with them as part of her career. She works at a doggy daycare and boarding facility. It's really hard to have a bad day when you are surrounded by pups! The best part of her job is that she gets to bring our dogs with her to work!

Estes

Roma is our old lady that loves to nap but also enjoys her short walks around the neighborhood. Her favorite thing however is eating! Estes is our little girl that we adopted last summer. She is 1-year-old and is the sweetest thing ever. She absolutely loves all children, and will make an excellent big sister!

We try to involve our pups in as many activities as possible. Roma prefers to stay home these days, but Estes loves going to family gatherings, hikes, work, etc. She is our constant companion and we wouldn't have it any other way. Dogs are a huge part of our family, and our child will have constant exposure to all different shapes, sizes and breeds.

©2018 American Adoptions - All Rights Reserved    
Call 1-800-ADOPTION