Since adoption laws vary on a state-by-state basis, it can be difficult to know exactly what Michigan adoption laws are. With that in mind, we’ve compiled a few of the most important adoption laws in Michigan. Remember, though, this doesn’t constitute legal advice. For more information about Michigan adoption laws or pursuing adoption in Michigan, call 1-800-ADOPTION at any time to speak with an adoption specialist.
Any adult, a husband and wife who wish to adopt jointly, or anyone married to the person that has legal custody of the child in question (as in a stepparent adoption) can legally adopt in Michigan.
Anyone who wishes to adopt from Michigan’s foster care system or become a foster parent must:
Be at least 18 years old
Complete an application for a license
Complete background checks
Provide medical statements
Have a completed home study
Provide three references
Attend relevant training
Yes. Depending on the birth parents’ needs, the adoptive parents may pay for:
Medical, hospital, nursing or pharmaceutical expenses incurred by the birth mother in relation to the birth
Medical, hospital, nursing or pharmaceutical expenses for the child to be adopted related to his or her birth or an illness
Counseling for the child’s parents or guardians
Living expenses for the birth mother up until six weeks after the birth of the child
Traveling expenses related to the adoption
Note that Michigan does not allow the payment of medical expenses that are covered by the birth mother’s health insurance or Medicaid.
Each of the child’s surviving parents
The department or child-placing agency that has custody of the child
The court or a tribal court
The child’s appointed guardian
The parent’s appointed guardian
The child being adopted, if they are 14 years of age or older
Both a birth mother and a birth father can consent to their child’s adoption after he or she is born at the court hearing or within seven days after consent is requested. Consent is irrevocable and mu st be given in a court hearing.
No. However, if a man wishes to claim paternity of the child before his or her birth, he can file a verified notice of intent to claim paternity with the court in his county. Unless the mother denies that he is the father, he will be presumed to be the father. If he files this claim in a timely manner, he will be entitled to notice of any adoption hearings involving the child.
Everyone who wishes to adopt must have a completed home study before they can do so.
For more information about adoption laws in Michigan, call 1-800-ADOPTION.
©2017 American Adoptions - All Rights Reserved