Every state in the U.S. establishes its own adoption laws. So, every state’s adoption laws will be unique. For this reason, it’s important that you have an adoption professional to guide you through the legal complexities of Oklahoma adoption laws so that you can complete the process legally and safely.
Many families work with national adoption agencies like American Adoptions, so you may adopt outside of Oklahoma state lines. This means that you’ll need your adoption professional to help you through both the expectant mother’s home state adoption laws as well as the adoption laws in Oklahoma.
To request free information about Oklahoma adoption laws that may affect you, call 1-800-ADOPTION now. The following information will help you learn more about the domestic adoption laws in Oklahoma and how they may affect your ability to adopt a child.
*Remember that the following information should not be considered legal advice. For any legal concerns, you should contact your adoption attorney.*
Oklahoma adoption laws state that anyone who is at least 21 years old may adopt.
Individual adoption professionals typically have their own requirements for potential adoptive parents, as well. These requirements will vary depending on the type of adoption you pursue as well as the adoption professional you work with in Oklahoma.
Anyone who wants to adopt in Oklahoma must first be approved to adopt through an OK-licensed home study professional. A home study is required for all types of adoption and no matter what adoption professional you work with. An Oklahoma adoption home study will require background checks, family interviews, home visits, training courses for adoption and more.
According to Oklahoma adoption laws, any eligible child or adult may be adopted.
In order for a child to be eligible for adoption, their biological parents must first terminate their legal parental rights in accordance with Oklahoma adoption consent laws and procedures.
Anyone who is at least 12 years old must give their consent to be adopted in Oklahoma in order to be eligible for adoption.
Oklahoma laws prohibit anything that could be construed as the trafficking of children, and this includes advertising for or soliciting women who are pregnant to induce them to place a child for adoption upon giving birth. Only licensed child-placing agencies or attorneys may advertise services for compensation to assist with the placement of a child for adoption in Oklahoma.
The adoption laws in Oklahoma regulate the amount of financial adoption assistance that can be provided to birth parents. Oklahoma allows the following “reasonable” birth parent expenses:
Attorney and court costs.
Medical expenses for the birth mother and the child.
Adoption counseling expenses for the birth parents before and after the child’s birth for up to six months after placement.
Living expenses for housing, utilities and other necessities for the birth mother.
Travel and transportation costs related to the pregnancy needs, medical needs, and adoption placement needs for the birth mother and child.
A one-time gift to the birth mother from the prospective adoptive parents of no greater value than $100.
Food costs for the birth mother and any minor child of hers living in her home.
Child care or foster care costs for any minor child of the birth mother associated with pregnancy-related medical care throughout the adoption process.
Any payment in exchange for the placement of a child into an adoption is considered child trafficking, and is illegal. This includes gifts or anything of value.
American Adoptions financially protects adoptive families with our unique Risk-Sharing program in the event of disrupted adoptions. This means that, unlike other agencies, you would be reimbursed for any lost expenses that you’d paid into a disrupted adoption situation.
To learn more about which OK adoption laws could affect your adoption, and to find out more about the adoption laws in Oklahoma, call 1-800-ADOPTION now.
©2018 American Adoptions - All Rights Reserved