close menu

“What does adoption mean to a child?”

Watch Video
Call 1-800-ADOPTION Contact us anytime, an adoption professional is here to help Free Info Free Info

Get Free Info

Infertility and the Grief and Loss Process

The Steps to Reach Acceptance

When dealing with infertility, there are typically five stages of grief and loss that a couple may experience. Experiencing these emotions is normal and healthy way of transitioning from infertility toward adoption.

Individuals deal with the stages of grief and loss in different ways. Some will experience all five stages, while others will experience only a couple of them. Also, the stages of grief and loss can be experienced in any order, and even when an individual reaches the acceptance stage, he or she can always revert back to other stages of denial, anger or sadness. Again, this is completely normal.

When moving from infertility to adoption, prospective adoptive couples may experience the following stages of grief and loss:

Stage 1 - Denial

The denial stage is when a family is in a state of shock and cannot fathom the possibility of them not having children biologically. As a result, they do not allow themselves to process their feelings of loss as they continue to pursue biological methods of having children.

Stage 2 - Anger

Throughout the grief and loss process, individuals are often angry because of their infertility. Anger can manifest itself in many ways, including fear, jealousy, envy, guilt, resentment or shame. Sometimes the anger can be directed at the source of the infertility, whether it is himself or herself or even the spouse.

Stage 3 - Bargaining

Some individuals experiencing infertility do anything they possibly can to cure their infertility. This may include attempting infertility treatments multiple times, eating certain foods, changing their lifestyles, praying over and over again, and even beginning the adoption process because they believe it will help them get pregnant. A couple should not pursue adoption unless they plan on fully devoting themselves to the process.

Stage 4 - Sadness

Many couples feel not just emotional pain but also physical pain during the sadness stage. They may have low energy and physical complaints. However, these feelings are actually an important step in the grieving process – it signifies that they are moving in a healthy way past the loss.

Stage 5 - Acceptance

When a couple fully accepts their infertility and processes their emotions regarding the loss, they reach a stage of acceptance. Couples at the acceptance stage look at infertility as a time that was challenging and emotionally difficult, but it no longer consumes them. They begin to see adoption as not a solution to their infertility, but as a solution to become parents – just as having a child biologically is a solution to become parents. They realize they are not settling for adoption, and they are excited to pursue this next phase of their lives together.


While American Adoptions can help educate couples about adoption and reduce some of their uncertainty about the adoption process, couples must reach the acceptance stage before pursuing adoption. Consult a local infertility or grief and loss specialist to help you move on from infertility and get excited about growing your family through adoption.

An Adoption Specialist can answer any questions you have about adoption and can even recommend counselors in your area. Contact an Adoption Specialist today at 1-800-ADOPTION or click the following to request free adoption information.

Information available through these links is the sole property of the companies and organizations listed therein. America Adoptions, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy and is in no way responsible for its content or accuracy.

Adoption Home Study

Adoption Home Study Process

Learn what a home study is and why you need one to adopt a child.

Read More

Home Study Questions and Answers

While adoption home studies vary slightly from agency to agency and state to state, there are several key elements that are almost always included in every home study.

Read More

Home Studies: State by State

Find a qualified professional in your state to complete your home study.

Read More
Frequently Asked Questions

Do we need to retain our own attorney?

No, American Adoptions has established relationships with some of the best adoption attorneys in the nation. Because adoption laws vary from state to state and between counties, it is important to utilize the services of an adoption attorney who specializes in the state where the adoption will finalize, which is unknown until you match with an expectant mother. You have the right to retain your own attorney, but doing so may be an additional, unnecessary expense.

Can we choose the gender of our baby?

American Adoptions accepts a limited number of families into our gender-specific program. Please contact us at 1-800-ADOPTION to learn whether we are currently accepting families into this program. With this option, families pay an additional Gender-Specific Fee to help our agency locate and work with birth mothers meeting this additional criterion. This fee is in addition to other program fees and covers additional advertising. The fee is not considered part of your adoption budget. Please note that gender specificity will likely increase your wait time significantly.

Additional Resources

Adoption Newsletter

Did you know that American Adoptions offers a free bi-weekly e-newsletter? Sign up today to keep up-to-date on the latest in adoption news and information.

Sign Up

Famous Adoptions

Learn which famous Hollywood actors, sports stars, politicians and other icons have been touched by adoption.

Read More

Adoption Glossary

Do adoption terms and phrases leave you feeling confused? Learn the meaning to key adoption words and phrases with our comprehensive adoption glossary.

Read More