What to Know About Connecticut Adoption Laws
Since adoption laws vary by state, it can be tough to learn all about what your state requires in one place. To help local families find all of this information in one place, we’ve compiled a list of adoption laws in Connecticut. To learn more about adopting in Connecticut, please call American Adoptions at 1-800-ADOPTION or fill out this online form to speak with an adoption specialist. They will answer any questions you may have, discuss any concerns, and help guide you through the laws of the Connecticut adoption process.
Please note that this article is not legal advice, nor does it take the place of an attorney.
Who is eligible to adopt a child in Connecticut?
Connecticut adoption laws allow any adult to adopt. If the person who hopes to adopt a child is married, he or she must adopt jointly with the spouse. If the person who hopes to adopt wishes to adopt another adult, he or she must be older than the adult they are adopting. If the person who hopes to adopt is a felon, this does not necessarily mean they are automatically ineligible to adopt, but it may be more difficult.
Can adoptive families pay for birth parent expenses in Connecticut?
Yes. Connecticut adoption laws state that prospective adoptive families are allowed to pay for a potential birth mother’s living expenses up to $1,500. If the expenses exceed this amount due to unusual circumstances, it must be approved by the court. Adoptive families can also pay for a prospective birth mother’s telephone charges, maternity clothing expenses, and counseling as soon as medically possible after birth.
Who must consent to a child’s adoption in Connecticut?
Before a child can be adopted in Connecticut, consent may be required from the following:
A statutory parent
A parent who agrees to let their spouse pursue a stepparent adoption
A guardian of the child who agrees in writing to a relative adopting the child
If a parent of the child is a minor, that parent will have the right to consent to adoption and will not be affected because of their status as a minor. The court will appoint a guardian ad litem to ensure the parent is informed and voluntarily consents to the adoption.
How do birth parents consent to an adoption in Connecticut?
According to adoption laws in Connecticut, a child’s mother must wait 48 hours after the birth of her child to consent to adoption by petitioning for a voluntary termination of her parental rights. If she is not married, the petition must state if there is a putative father who must receive notice of adoption proceedings.
When is a prospective birth parent’s consent to adoption not needed?
If the court finds that a parent has done any of the following, his or her parental consent may not be necessary:
Abandoned the child
Sexually or physically abused the child
Failed to establish an ongoing relationship with the child
Ever been found neglectful of the child
Had his or her parental rights to another child terminated
Deliberately killed or requested, attempted, or conspired the killing of another child
Deliberately assaulted a child
Been convicted of sexual assault that resulted in the conception of the child
What rights does a child’s prospective birth father have in Connecticut?
If a man claims to be the father of a child born after wedlock, he must file a claim for paternity within 60 days after the date of notice. He is then prohibited from denying his paternity and obligated to support the child as well as provide pregnancy-related support to the mother.
If a man does not file a claim for paternity, had not been determined the father by the court, has not contributed regularly to the support of the child, or does not have his name on the child’s birth certificate, he has no legal rights to the child. Please know, however, that birth father rights are complicated, and the way they’re handled varies on a case by case basis. Please speak with a licensed social worker or adoption professional with any questions.
Who has to have a home study in Connecticut?
Any family who hopes to adopt a child — whether from foster care, domestically or internationally — must first complete a Connecticut adoption home study.
For more information about adoption laws in Connecticut, please contact a local adoption attorney. To begin the adoption process with our agency today, please call American Adoptions at 1-800-ADOPTION.
Information available through these links is the sole property of the companies and organizations listed therein. America Adoptions, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy and is in no way responsible for its content or accuracy.