Vermont Adoption Laws
And How Certain Laws Could Impact Your Adoption
If you’re considering an adoption in Vermont, you probably have many questions about the adoption laws in your state.
Below are some common questions that couples hoping to adopt and expectant mothers considering adoption have in Vermont. However, the contents of the article do not serve as actual legal advice. If you have any questions regarding the adoption laws in Vermont, you should contact a professional adoption attorney in your state. If you’re working with American Adoptions, we can do the legwork and connect you with a trusted attorney in your area. If not, you’ll need to find an adoption attorney in Vermont.
Who Can Adopt a Child in Vermont?
According to Vermont adoption laws, any individual can adopt a child. Same-sex couples can petition to adopt as well.
What are the Requirements to Adopt a Child in Foster Care?
The requirements to adopt a child from foster care are a little different than a domestic adoption.
To adopt a child in DCF custody, you must:
Be at least 21 years old
Be single, married, living with your partner, or joined through a civil union
Have a valid adoption home study or a Vermont foster care license
Have enough room in your home to take care of a child and sufficient income to support everyone in your family
If you would like to learn a little more about becoming a foster parent in Vermont, or if you would like to learn more about foster adoption laws in Vermont, contact your local Department for Children and Families.
What Kind of Adoption Expenses are Paid by the Adoptive Family?
Every state, including Vermont, has rules and regulations in place for what adoptive families can pay for. In general, you can expect to pay for the following adoption and pregnancy-related expenses:
Medical expenses for the birth mother or the child
Any additional expenses deemed appropriate by the court
How Can I Finalize My International Adoption in Vermont?
Because of the Vermont adoption laws, a foreign adoption decree will have the same effect as one that was signed within the state. Once your final adoption decree has been received, you can apply for the adopted child to be issued a new birth certificate from the Supervisor of Vital Records. You will also need to send a written request for your child’s new birth certificate and a record of the foreign adoption, according to the adoption laws in Vermont.
Can I Use Advertising or Facilitators to Adopt in Vermont?
Birth parents and adoptive families are able to receive assistance when it comes to finding an adoption opportunity, but Vermont doesn’t have any laws about using advertising to do so.
If you have any questions about the use of advertisers, contact your adoption professional to discuss various Vermont adoption laws.
When Can Birth Parents Consent to the Adoption?
In Vermont, birth parents can only give their consent to the adoption 36 hours or more after the birth of the baby. The consent to the adoption will be given in writing and must be performed in front of a judge per the adoption laws in Vermont.
Before the consent to the adoption can be executed, the birth parent will be informed of the meaning and finality of the adoption, the availability of legal counseling, and more. Your adoption attorney will be available to go over what else you can expect to happen at the signing.
The following individuals must consent to the adoption, if applicable:
The birth mother
The birth father
A man who is or was previously married to the birth mother within 300 days of the said birth
The child you are planning to adopt if they are over 14 years old
A man who is not married to the birth mother but has acknowledged his paternity
Any other guardian that is authorized to give consent
When is the Consent to the Adoption Irrevocable?
Consent becomes irrevocable in Vermont 21 days after the consent to the adoption has been signed.
What Rights Does a Birth Father Have in Vermont?
The rights of birth fathers in an adoption can be tricky. To understand birth father rights in Vermont, as well as what rights birth fathers have according to Vermont adoption laws, contact a local adoption attorney.
Learning which adoption laws in Vermont are applicable to your adoption can be confusing. To learn more, please reach out to a local adoption attorney or request free information here.
Information available through these links is the sole property of the companies and organizations listed therein. America Adoptions, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy and is in no way responsible for its content or accuracy.