Nevada Adoption Requirements
Considering adoption as a way to grow your family is a big step. At this point, many families wonder if they’re eligible to adopt in Nevada. If this describes you, we’ve compiled a list of Nevada’s adoption requirements to help you out.
You can also get helpful information about adoption in Nevada by filling out our free online form or calling 1-800-ADOPTION.
How old do you have to be to adopt in Nevada?
In Nevada, the question isn’t necessarily “how old to adopt a child,” but rather how much older you need to be than the child you wish to adopt. An adoptive parent must be at least 10 years older than the child they’re adopting. This law may be circumvented if the child is being adopted by a stepparent, sister, brother, aunt, uncle or first cousin and if the court believes the adoption to be in the child’s best interests.
Do you have to be married to adopt in Nevada?
Nevada has no marriage requirements for adopting a child. However, because American Adoptions is a national agency and must meet the requirements for all state laws, we are currently only accepting couples who have been married for a minimum of two years. Exceptions may be made, however, so don’t hesitate to contact us if you wish to adopt with our agency without meeting this requirement.
Can same-sex couples adopt in Nevada?
Yes. Nevada’s adoption laws use gender-neutral language, which allows for same-sex adoption.
Can a felon adopt a child in Nevada?
This question is more complicated than a simple yes or no. As in most states, this will depend on the nature of the felony. If it involved abuse or assault, there is little chance that you will be able to adopt a child. However, if it was of a less violent nature, your social worker will talk with you to learn about the crime, why it happened, and what you’ve done to correct past mistakes. He or she will determine if you meet the qualifications for adoption in Nevada.
Are there emotional requirements to adopt a child in Nevada?
It’s important to be emotionally ready for adoption as well. When working with American Adoptions, you will need to:
Have fully moved on from infertility, if applicable.
Be on the same page as everyone else in your household about adopting.
Have told those close to you about your adoption decision.
Understand that, while it will be worth it in the end, there are highs and lows that come with the adoption journey.
If you feel that you meet all of these qualifications for adoption and are excited to begin the process, that’s a big step. Congratulations!
What are the foster care adoption requirements in Nevada?
Since foster care is run by the state and private adoption agencies are not, foster care professionals may have different requirements to adopt a child in Nevada. The emotional requirements, of course, are the same, but the legal qualifications include:
Have sufficient income
Be at least 21 years old and at least 10 years older than the child you wish to adopt
Be cleared with law enforcement, child abuse and neglect screenings as well as fingerprint clearances
To adopt from foster care, you can be single, married, divorced, widowed, or part of a same-sex couple.
If you still meet American Adoptions requirements for adoption in Nevada, and you'd like to start the process today, please call 1-800-ADOPTION or contact us online anytime.
Information available through these links is the sole property of the companies and organizations listed therein. America Adoptions, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy and is in no way responsible for its content or accuracy.