Utah Adoption Laws You Need to Know
Within the United States, every state is responsible for determining its own adoption laws. Every hopeful adoptive family must work with an adoption attorney to ensure that their adoption is completed legally and correctly according to Utah adoption laws.
Families who work with a national adoption agency like American Adoptions might end up adopting outside of Utah. In this case, your adoption professional will need to guide you through both the adoption laws in Utah as well as the adoption laws in the expectant mother’s home state.
Call 1-800-ADOPTION to request free information about the Utah adoption laws that could affect your adoption process. The information below will give you an overview of the domestic adoption laws in Utah that will influence how you adopt a child.
*It’s important to note that the following information is not intended as legal advice. For that, you should contact your adoption attorney.*
Who Can Adopt in Utah?
A prospective adoptive parent must be at least 10 years older than the person that they’re adopting, according to Utah adoption laws.
An adoptive parent can be single or married, but may not adopt as part of an unmarried, cohabiting couple. A married person must petition to adopt with the consent of their spouse, or petition to adopt together.
Beyond the legal requirements set by Utah adoption laws, individual adoption professionals often have their own set of requirements for prospective adoptive parents. For example, most adoption professionals in Utah require that adoptive parents be at least 21 years old. Adoption requirements can vary based on the type of adoption and the adoption professional that you choose.
All hopeful adoptive families in Utah will first need to be cleared to adopt through a Utah-licensed home study provider. This is required for all types of adoption and regardless of the adoption professional you adopt through. Your Utah adoption home study involves family interviews, home visits, background checks, training courses and more.
Who Can Be Adopted in Utah?
Minors and adults may be adopted in Utah, but they must be at least 10 years younger than the person who is adopting them, according to Utah adoption laws.
A child’s biological parents must first terminate their legal parental rights in order for a child to become eligible for adoption in Utah. This must be done in accordance with all Utah adoption consent laws and procedures.
Any person who is 12 years old or older must offer their consent to an adoption in Utah before they may be adopted, as long as they are mentally able to do so.
Utah Adoption Laws about Advertising
Without a valid license, no person, corporation, association, agency, or children’s group home can place a child or ask for assistance, monetary or otherwise, for child-placing.
Adoptive parents should work closely with their adoption professionals to understand how Utah adoption laws will affect their search for an adoption opportunity.
Utah Adoption Laws about Birth Parent Expenses
According to adoption laws in Utah, adoption-related expenses are allowed as charitable acts. Birth parent expenses must be considered reasonable amounts. Expenses can include legal, counseling, travel, maternity and living expenses.
Before the final decree of adoption is filed, the adoptive parents will need to file a signed report of all paid expenses, gifts and items of value exchanged in connection with the adoption to the court.
American Adoptions offers a unique Risk-Sharing program that financially protects adoptive families in the event of an adoption disruption. So, unlike other agencies, you’d be reimbursed for the expenses paid into an adoption situation if it disrupts.
To find out if these UT adoption laws will affect your adoption, you can request free information online here.
Information available through these links is the sole property of the companies and organizations listed therein. America Adoptions, Inc. provides this information as a courtesy and is in no way responsible for its content or accuracy.